Chancellor orders Texas A&M University System members to sever ties with Russian entities | Texas A&M


Texas A&M Chancellor John Sharp has ordered members of the university system to cut ties with Russian entities in light of sanctions put in place by President Joe Biden against Russia following his recent invasion of the Ukraine.

Sharp on Wednesday sent a memo to all A&M System CEOs directing them to immediately dissolve agreements with Russian entities, including academic, research and intellectual property agreements. Sharp also urged system members to review non-contractual engagements with Russian entities.

“The Texas A&M University System will in no way tolerate or support Russia as it continues its brutal, senseless, and unjust attack on the sovereign nation of Ukraine and its people,” Sharp wrote in the memo. “Please note that this action is in no way an indictment of our Russian-born teachers or a criticism of teachers working to improve conditions in Russia, especially for oppressed groups in this country. I believe that most, if not all, of our professors oppose the aggression of Russian President Vladimir Putin and his cronies, and will support this action.

People also read…

In Sharp’s memo, he notes that academic commitments include: student and faculty exchange agreements, study abroad agreements, collaborative academic program agreements, and faculty appointment agreements. affiliates.

Research-related agreements include: Sponsored Research Agreements, Proposals, Cooperative Agreements, Grant Agreements, Memoranda of Understanding, Team Agreements, Interagency Agreements, Consortium Agreements, agreements, clinical trial agreements, visiting scientist agreements, non-commercial material transfer agreements, data use agreements and nondisclosure agreements.

Intellectual property agreements include: license agreements, letters of agreement, option agreements, inter-institutional agreements, non-disclosure agreements, commercial material transfer agreements, enterprise agreements, applications, statements, affidavits, disclaimers and documents related to the commercialization of system technologies.

The Texas A&M University System includes 11 universities, eight state agencies, and the RELLIS campus.


Comments are closed.