Elon University / Today at Elon / Beta Gamma Sigma rewards academic achievement


Elon’s Chapter of the International Business Honor Society inducted 53 students in a spring ceremony, which included remarks from chapter winner Derek Steed, senior vice president, secretary and general counsel of Glen Raven, and naming speaker Chris Baker “Teacher of the Year”.

The Martha and Spencer Love School of Business honored top performing students at the Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony on May 3.

Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) is the international honor society serving AACSB International (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) accredited business programs.

Fifty students, representing the top 10% of the junior and senior classes of the Love School of Business and the top 20% of graduates from the MBA, MSBA, MSA and MScM programs, as well as three faculty members were inducted during the ceremony led by Raghu Tadepalli, Dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business and President of the BGS Chapter.

2022 Chapter winner Derek Steed spoke to inductees about the purpose of business and responsible leadership. Steed is senior vice president, secretary and general counsel of Glen Raven, and serves on the advisory board of the Love School of Business.

“The priceless ingredient of a product in the market is the honor and integrity of its maker,” Steed said of encouraging students to consider honor and integrity when building brands. “If you look at the values ​​of this organization, honor and integrity come first. And that’s so important to how we build trust, and also how we can lose it so quickly. They say you build trust by the drip, and lose it by the bucket, and that’s true when it comes to our brand.

Dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business Raghu Tadepalli (left) standing with finance lecturer Chris Baker.

During the ceremony, the Chapter honored Finance Lecturer Chris Baker with the 2022 Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year Award. Chapter members chose Baker because she encourages and honors high academic achievement of his students; fosters in students a lasting commitment to the founding principles and values ​​of BGS – honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom and seriousness; and supports the advancement of business thinking and practice to encourage lifelong learning.

Baker joined Elon in 2008, teaching finance and accounting courses. Prior to Elon, she served as Acting Chief Financial Officer at TriStone Community Bank; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Capital Bank and Capital Bank Corporation; executive vice president, chief financial officer, corporate secretary and treasurer of 1st State Bank and 1st State Bancorp, Inc.; COO and CFO at First Capital Services, Inc.; and Senior Vice President and Treasurer of the First Federal Saving and Loan Association.

She serves on Elon’s board of directors, graduated from Elon’s MBA program in 1988, and received the university’s Distinguished Alumna of the Year award in 2012.

BGS 2022 Inductees


  • Grant Ardel
  • Sophie Ballance
  • blue jay
  • Aiden Bradshaw
  • Halley Brewer
  • Anna Carmody
  • Maggie Connolly
  • Lily Cooper
  • Bennett Curtis
  • Rachel Davis
  • Camy Esplin
  • Everton Ally
  • Melissa freed
  • Kevin Garcia Reyes
  • Does Gatchel
  • Ally Hogan
  • Nicholas Ivanov
  • Maia Kaplan
  • Charlie Kurz
  • Julia Laporte
  • Sam Levin
  • Sally Meek
  • Sarah Perciavalle
  • Alex Sonnier
  • Jacob Stanley
  • Rachel Tammaro
  • Isabelle Venziale
  • Callum walker


  • Adrienne Bevins
  • Valerie Borges
  • Francesca Conte
  • Matthias Ferring
  • Annie Gillian
  • Jess Joblin
  • Nana Kaneko
  • Erica Larkin
  • Moritz Lederer
  • Jaime Murray
  • Kenna Provost
  • Mika Sovjani
  • Meredith Winslow
  • Leiu Yuenyong

MBA, MSBA, MSA and MScM candidates

  • Ashley Caps
  • Sumera Ingram
  • Rynita Julien
  • Marc Leath
  • Giavanna Papavero
  • Catherine Parson
  • McKenna Quinn
  • Charles Rizo


  • Tonmoy Islam
  • Elena Kennedy
  • Brandon Sheridan


  • President and Advisor – Dean Raghu Tadepalli
  • Vice President 2020-21 and 2021-22 – Meredith Mackenzie ’22
  • Vice-president 2021-22 and 2022-23 – Nicole Dischinger ’23
  • Vice President 2022-23 – Rachel Tammaro ’23

Former BGS Professors of the Year

  • 2021 – Danny Lanier
  • 2020 – Adam Aiken and Brian Lyons
  • 2019 – Hani Tadros
  • 2018 – Steven Bednar
  • 2017 – Patty Cox
  • 2016 – Steve DeLoach
  • 2015 – Jen Platania
  • 2014 – Irana Scott
  • 2013 – Raj Gupta
  • 2012 – Linda Poulson

Comments are closed.