Four bears named to MEAC football team




MSU Athletics Communications

NORFOLK, Virginia (November 23, 2021) – The Morgan State football team had four recognized student-athletes when the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced their playoff football honors, presented by TowneBank.

Defensive lineman Christian Teague, defensive back Jae-Veyon Morton, tight end Isaiah Gerena and bettor Neil Boudreau won second-team honors.

Teague led the Bears as one of the best defensive linemen in the league. The runner-up finished the season fourth on the team with 50 total tackles and 6th in the MEAC for loss tackles (8.5). The Hagerstown product also had two sacks and three quarters squeezed.

Morton has been recognized as a high school star for the Bears. The Detroit native finished the season ranked T-No. 4th in the conference in defended passes (8) and 9th in tackles with 63, with an average of 5.7 per game. The junior also added an interception and a pair of tackles for the loss of the season.

Gerena had a productive first season as the Bears started on the tight end. The Barnegat (NJ) freshman finished as the team’s second-best receiver as he recorded 22 receptions for 188 yards (8.5 on average)

Boudreau, who was the Bears’ starting quarterback, has been recognized as one of the league’s top punters. The Irvine (Calif.) Product ranked 4th in the league with an average of 37.9 yards on 65 punts. He had 17 punts within the 20s and had five punts over 50 yards, including a 69-yard punt against Norfolk State (Oct. 30) – the longest punt in the MEAC this season.

Norfolk State led all teams with 11 All-MEAC first team winners. Delaware State followed with six first-team winners, while South Carolina State had five. The team was elected by the head football coaches and sports information directors of the MEAC.

The Aggies will compete in their third Celebration Bowl on Saturday, December 21 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. The game will be televised at noon EST on ABC.

Norfolk State took home the honors of the Offensive Lineman of the Year and Rookie of the Year, with Justin Redd and JJ Davis taking those accolades, respectively. South Carolina State Head Coach Oliver “Buddy” Pough has been named MEAC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career.

In partnership with the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame, MEAC will announce its Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year as part of the festivities surrounding the 63rd Annual NFF Awards Dinner on Tuesday, December 7 at the ‘ARIA Resort & Casino.

For the full 2021 All-MEAC teams click here

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Justin Redd, State of Norfolk
Rookie of the Year: JJ Davis, State of Norfolk
Coach of the Year: Buddy Pough, State of South Carolina

Bears selected for the All-MEAC 2021 team include:

Second team
P Neil Boudreau
YOU Isaiah Gerena
DL Christian Teague
DB Jae Veyon Morton

There are many ways to track MSU athletics in line and on the move:
• Visit, the official Bears Athletics website, for news, schedules, stats, bios and more.
• Follow us on social networks:
Facebook: / MorganStateBears
Twitter: @MorganStBears
Instagram: / MorganStateBears

Morgan State University, founded in 1867, is a Carnegie listed university high search (R2) institution offering nearly 140 academic programs leading to degrees from bachelor’s to doctorate. Like maryland Preeminent Public Urban Research University, and the only university to have its entire campus designated as national treasure through the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Morgan serves a multiethnic, multiracial student body and seeks to ensure that the doors to higher education are opened as widely as possible to as many people as possible. For more information about Morgan State University, visit
printable version



Comments are closed.